Special Features

Morristown's Treasured Businesses - Winners Announced!

Untitled Document

With the Panel of Judges votes counting for 75% of total points and Public Voting counting for 25% of total points in this contest the following three groups obtained the most overall points:

1st Place: Marty’s Reliable Cycle - Justin Marks, Tom Hillebrecht (broadcasting) & Chris Recio (journalism)

2nd Place: Braunschweiger Jewelers - Joey Gatto (broadcasting) & Christine Gilmore (journalism)

3rd Place: The Dain Shoppe - Cara Jayne Bodnar, Clara Haslauer, Leely Rezvani (broadcasting) & Rachel Poling (journalism)


"Morristown's Treasured Businesses"

Broadcasting and Journalism students from Morristown High School were asked to produce a mini-documentary about Morristown businesses, which have been in the community a minimum of 25 years. Broadcasting students from teacher Michael Butler's department were paired with Journalism students taught by MHS English teacher, Julie Delimon. This co-curricular project produced 15 contest entries. Contestants came from all grades, freshman through senior. There were 30 broadcasting students, and 18 journalism students involved. Students completed their videos using High Definition cameras and Final Cut Pro editing equipment.

The final videos are below. Enjoy viewing these mini-documentaries and please vote by selecting your choice from the drop down box and clicking 'vote' below. Public voting will begin Wednesday May 11, 2011 at 12:00am and close Wednesday May 25, 2011 at 11:59pm. Public votes will only account for a portion of the total scoring to be completed by a panel of judges comprised of Morristown High School Educators, Public Officials and Local Media Representatives. The top three teams will be awarded Morristown Partnership Gift Certificates!

Voting is now closed; thank you for participating!

Thank you to the students and staff at Morristown High School for producing these mini-documentaries for our business community. We wish you the best of luck!

Morristown Partnership Board of Trustees & Staff

 Braunschweiger Jewelers

Joey Gatto (broadcasting)

Christine Gilmore (journalism)

 Broome's Beauty Charm Company

Katriece Davis, Rashad Schinnery (broadcasting)

 The Dain Shoppe

Cara Jayne Bodnar, Clara Haslauer, Leely Rezvani (broadcasting)

Rachel Poling (journalism)

 Elliott's Flower Shoppe

Daniel Stornetta, Paul Caravaglia, Jake Goldberg, Anthony Galante (broadcasting)

Lauren Toye (journalism)

 The Grand Cafe

Jordan Boswell, Emily Olander (broadcasting)

Mary Rizzi (journalism)

 The Health Shoppe

Darren Rabinowitz, Ryan Hennessey (broadcasting)

Amy Ponciano (journalism)

 Hennessey's Washington Bar

Mark Granade, Anthony Cannella, Tyler Taunton (broadcasting)

Rachel Diamond (journalism)

 International Pottery

Margot Accettura, Nora Lahtee (broadcasting)

Manuela Morales (journalism)

 J.C.Reiss Optician & Reiss Kids

Rebecca Anolick, Reece Ellison (broadcasting)

 Marty's Reliable Cycle

Justin Marks, Tom Hillebrecht (broadcasting)

Chris Recio (journalism)

 NK Architects

Jake Byk (broadcasting)

Charles Sanderson (journalism)

 Orchard's Auto Glass & Radiator

Alex Tholl (broadcasting)

Danny Kennedy (journalism)

 Sandrian Camera

Allie Lott (broadcasting)

Leah Brusca (journalism)

 The Teaching Room

Zaji Zabelerio, Jerome Haith (broadcasting)

Katie Duenskie (journalism)

 Wells Rug Service

Sam McNally; Jeffrey Sisco (broadcasting)

Manuel Lopez (journalism)