Public Schools of the Morris School District

The Morris School District

To find out what's new and what's current with the Morris School District, check out the Website for The Morris School District.

For information, call 973-292-2000.

Mr. Thomas Ficarra, Superintendent of Schools

The Morris School District

At a Glance

Since 1854, the Morris School District has been a unifying social force and a source of tremendous pride in our community. In our classrooms and on our playgrounds children of every race, religion, and economic background come together to learn with and from each other.

The Morris School District serves the communities of Morristown and Morris Township (grades K-12) and Morris Plains (9-12) by providing a supportive and challenging educational environment for a total student population of approximately 4,700. Within the District there are three primary schools (K-2), three intermediate schools (3-5), one multiage magnet school (K-5), one middle school (6-8), and one high school. The District also operates a preschool program for children with special educational needs.

In addition to our K-12 program, the Morris School District operates an innovative Community School that offers an extensive adult school curriculum for lifelong learners. The Community School also provides a nurturing before and after-school childcare program, Sunrise Sunset, for Morris School District children of busy parents. Housed in each of the District's elementary schools, Sunrise Sunset offers a safe, supportive and supervised environment in which boys and girls can work and play before and after school. The Community School's ever-popular summer program, Summer Plus, provides children with an active, enjoyable, and local alternative to summer camp.

Morris School District Board of Education

Dr. Angela Rieck, President
Mr. Leonard Posey, Vice President

Mrs. Nancy Bangiola
Mr. William Fainglas (Morristown)
Mrs. Marie Fornaro (Morris Township)
Dr. Peter Gallerstein
Mrs. Phyllis Grant (Morris Plains Representative)
Ms. Lisa Pollak
Mrs. Ann Rhines
Mr. John Schafer (Morris Township)